A strange place for gratitude

GuadalupeNOLA15Oct07Thanks

It can be heartbreaking saying goodbye – a friend moving across the country, a companion  animal who has passed away, a group you no longer work with. For me, it was a partner, who I shared the daily struggle with.

How could it end like this?

Until it dawned on me, that I could choose how I let it affect me, like every other aspect of my life. I could weave a story of betrayal, of bad intentions, of lost respect – or instead I could focus on the good, on the positive, on the uplifting. For only the things we care about, can really hurt us. We love things because we are loving, it is in our character – and that is always a beautiful thing. I choose gratitude.

I am grateful for…

1) Unselfish support, in vulnerable moments past

2) Love, that continues on even after the last good-bye

3) Inside jokes that will always be funny

4) Songs that are enriched by my memories

5) The opportunity to grow, as I start a new chapter

Change is inevitable. The way we react to it, is our choice. Is there something you’re struggling with? Something that makes you sad, angry, or worried? I’d like to challenge you to find 5 things you’re grateful for even in those very difficult situations. If you’re brave, perhaps even share them below – or better yet, send the list of what you’re grateful for to the people involved.

Trust me, it will be well worth it.

 

**If you enjoyed the content of this post, please consider following my blog below**

8 thoughts on “A strange place for gratitude

  1. Thanks for another fantastic article. Where else could anyone
    get that kind of info in such an ideal means of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the search
    for such information.

    Like

  2. I’m grateful for many things, but the very basic things I’m grateful for are: being able to breathe fresh air in the morning, the sunlight, having my own mind (no matter how insane it can be sometimes), my family and friends and the people who are still willing to accept me in this small circle, having a place I can call home, and having senses that allow my to taste the world as it is 🙂

    And hi Laura! Thank you so much for following my blog ^^
    Very pleased to meet you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

